WhatsApp users can now send self-destructing voice messages, here’s how



WhatsApp has expanded the “view once” for audio messages. The feature rolling out to globally starting today allows users to set messages to disappear after they have been listened to, just like the existing feature for photos and videos.
This could be useful for situations where you want to share sensitive information, such as credit card details, with a friend or when you want to send a surprise message that should only be heard once.
View Once voice messages are marked with a “one-time” icon, just like View Once photos and videos. These voice messages can only be played once.
WhatsApp says that all personal messages, even “view once” voice messages, are end-to-end encryption by default.
How to send a “view once” voice message on WhatsApp
To send a view once voice message, follow these steps:
1. Open an individual or group chat.
2. Tap the microphone.
3. Swipe up to lock the recording.
4. Tap and hold the record button.
5. When the button turns green, you are in view once mode.
6. Tap the send button.
7. If the recipient has read messages enabled, you’ll see an opened receipt in the chat when they’ve opened your view once media or voice message.
“View once” voice messages on WhatsApp: Things to know
To send a view once message, you will need to select the view once option each time. Once viewed, the view once voice messages cannot be seen again. To check if it was opened, the recipient must have read the receipts on. Also, the messages will not be saved to their device, and cannot be recorded.
When you receive a voice message, you need to open and listen to it within 14 days of sending it. The message will expire and disappear from the chat if you don’t. Additionally, you won’t be able to forward, save, star, or share any voice messages sent or received using the view once media feature.
Voice messages that have not been opened during backup can be restored. However, if a photo, voice message, or video has been opened, it will not be included in the backup and, therefore, cannot be restored. It is also important to note that you cannot take a screenshot of any media you receive.




LocalTak – Daily News & Updates