Home Hollywood Berlin Film Festival Winners Announced

Berlin Film Festival Winners Announced

Berlin Film Festival Winners Announced


Competition winners are being announced this evening in the German capital as the 74th Berlin Film Festival draws to a close. Scroll down for a live updating list of winners. 

After a highly politicized run-up, this year’s Berlinale, Carlo Chatrian and Mariette Rissenbeek’s final edition in charge was, in the end, fairly conventional. There were no real scandals or divisive talking points. For the most part, audiences have been focused on the films, which have been a mixed bag. A favorite on the ground was French-Senegalese filmmaker Mati Diop’s expansive latest feature, Dahomey. Deadline’s Stephanie Bunbury described the film as a “marvelous provocation” while Damon Wise described Victor Kossakovsky’s Architection, another favorite, as “fascinating, magnetic.”  Check out Deadline’s festival reviews here. 

Away from the competition, on Wednesday, Martin Scorsese rolled into town to receive the festival’s Honorary Golden Bear. Scorsese was handed the award by German filmmaker Wim Wenders, who described him as “the reigning king of cinema.” Scorsese’s remarks during the ceremony — which you can check out here — were brief. We also spoke exclusively with the filmmaker before his Berlin bow, and you can read that here. On the business side, the European Film Market was piping hot. High-profile deals included our scoop that Sony pounced on After Yang filmmaker Kogonada’s next feature starring Margot Robbie and Colin Farrell in a $50 million deal. We also revealed the studio locked international on Past Lives filmmaker Celine Song’s follow-up Materialists. Dakota Johnson, Pedro Pascal, and Chris Evans are said to be in talks to star. 

Before this evening’s opening ceremony, the festival announced the winners from this year’s Panorama sidebar. The Panorama Audience Award for the best feature film was picked up by Memorias de un cuerpo que arde (Memories of a Burning Body) by Antonella Sudasassi Furniss. At the same time, No Other Land by Basel Adra, Hamdan Ballal, Yuval Abraham, and Rachel Szor won the Panorama Dokumente award. This year, Panorama presented a total of 31 titles from 36 production countries, ten of them were in Panorama Dokumente. Elsewhere, the Panorama Jury awarded the CICAE Arthouse Cinema Award to the Norwegian film Sex, directed by Dag Johan Haugerud, and the Forum Jury handed the German film Shahid, directed by Narges Kalhor, with the CICAE Arthouse Cinema Award.

Check out the list of winners below:

Prizes of the International Jury

Encounters Jury

GWFF Best First Feature Award

Berlinale Documentary Award

Song Lyrics Hollywood and Bollywood
GigFly – Freelancing Marketplace


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here