Monday, October 3, 2022

Richie Berrington to lead Scotland’s 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2022

- Advertisement -

Scotland have named fast bowlers Josh Davey and Brad Wheal in their 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 to be played later this year in Australia. Both Davey and Wheal last played in the previous edition of the mega event where Scotland qualified for the Super 12 after beating Namibia, Ireland and the Netherlands in Group A.

Richie Berrington has been named as skipper as veteran Kyle Coetzer called it a day from international cricket earlier this year in July. Berrington played a key role for Scotland last year, having scored 177 runs with two half-centuries to show for his efforts.

Along with the likes of Calum MacLeod and George Munsey, Berrington will play a massive role in Scotland’s batting lineup.

Young batter Brandon McMullen earned a call and could well make his debut in the multi-nation T20 tournament.

Batter Oliver Hairs, who is highly rated in Scotland, couldn’t make the cut for the World Cup. Fast bowlers Gavin Main and Ali Evans missed the bus as well.

Left-arm spinner Mark Watt, fast bowler Safyaan Sharif and all-rounder Chris Greaves, who won the Player of the Match award last year against Bangladesh, are also key elements of the Scottish team.

“For those players who are not going to the world cup, we look forward to seeing them challenging for international honours in years to come,” head coach Shane Burger was quoted as saying.

Scotland T20 World Cup squad

Richard Berrington (c), George Munsey, Michael Leask, Bradley Wheal, Chris Sole, Chris Greaves, Safyaan Sharif, Josh Davey, Matthew Cross, Calum MacLeod, Hamza Tahir, Mark Watt, Brandon McMullen, Michael Jones, Craig Wallace.

— ENDS —

Quearn – Do QnA

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular